Ripped-Paper-1 Music-Trust-Logo

HOME

EVENTS

SUPPORT

ARCHIVE

CONTACT

TICKETS

OUTREACH

Note-1 Note-1 Note-1 Note-1 Note-1 Note-1 Note-1

PARTNERS

Note-1

Thursday 15th September

Music-Background-1 [50%]
Ripped-Paper Ripped-Paper-1

OUTREACH

CLICK HERE TO BOOK ONLINE

Music-Trust-Logo

HOME

EVENTS

SUPPORT

ARCHIVE

CONTACT

TICKETS

Note-1 Note-1 Note-1 Note-1 Note-1 Note-1 Note-1

WHATS ON 2016/17

TICKETS ON SALE NOW

Saturday 27th May 7.30pm

KOSMOS ENSEMBLE

Friday 16th June 8.00pm

EX CATHEDRA

‘Summer Music by Candlelight’

Sunday 6th November 5.00pm

EARTH, AIR, RAIN

Sunday 27th November 3.00pm

FLORILEGIUM

Friday 2nd December 7.30pm

EX CATHEDRA - CHRISTMAS

Sunday 15th January 6.00pm

QUINTET ROMANCE AT DUSK

Friday 17th February 7.30pm

CITY of LONDON SINFONIA

Friday 17th March 7.30pm

PROJECT JAM SANDWICH

Sunday 26th March 3.00pm

CARDUCCI STRING QUARTET: I

with Simon Callaghan – piano

Sunday 2nd April 3.00pm

CARDUCCI STRING QUARTET: II

with Julian Bliss – clarinet

Saturday 8th April 7.30pm

BRITISH POLICE

SYMPHONY ORCHESTRA

Saturday 22nd April 7.30pm

A SCHUBERTIADE

Thursday 4th May 7.30pm

REQUIEM FOR A PINK MOON

Sunday 14th May 3.00pm

CARDUCCI STRING QUARTET: III

‘Beethoven’s Letters’

with Crawford Logan – actor

Alexandra Wood

Henry Webster

Dan Walsh

 

Vivaldi

      La Folia

From the British Isles

      Irish & Scottish Reels

Grainger

      The Londonderry Air,

      Molly on the shore

Piazzolla

      Suite del Diablo

Locatelli

      Devil’s Trill (from L’arte del violin)

From the Appalachians

      Bonaparte’s Retreat,

      McLeod’s Reel,

      Gilderoy

Copland

      Hoe Down from Rodeo

Nocturne

      Ukelele Serenade

Vivaldi

      Autumn from The Four Seasons

 

“A performance of kaleidoscopic brilliance” Independent

 

Pre-Concert Talk with Q&A: 6.45pm

Dan & Harry explain the influence of folk music on classical and trace a line through Vivaldi and British reels all the way to Bluegrass and its influence on the 20c American composer, Copland

 

Wine Bar

Saturday 17th September 7.30pm

THE KATONA TWINS

Monday 27th February 1pm - 2pm

When Worlds Collide - Lunch Time

Sunday 23rd October 4.00pm

POP-UP OPERA - The Barber of Seville

City of London Sinfonia

Tickets: £20.00

25 & under: £10.00

18 & under:£1.00

Music exploring the devil’s own instrument! – the violin – from Baroque virtuoso items to Scots & Irish reels and Appalachian fiddle music.

 

The devil has all the best tunes, so they say, and the violin is his instrument of choice. In this dazzling programme the consummate CLS, well-known for their exciting and adventurous programming, explore fiery fiddling from the classical and folk traditions

with devilishly difficult trills and tricks from the Italian masters of the Baroque, folk fiddling from the British Isles to the Appalachian mountains of the deep south of America and sultry impassioned tango from Argentina. En route they take in music from Percy Grainger and Aaron Copland inspired by the folk traditions of the UK and the USA.

They are joined by two of the best folk

musicians in the country: award winning folk fiddler Henry Webster and the the astonishing banjo player Dan Walsh.

THE DEVIL’S VIOLIN

Lanyon-Bowdler

Sponsored by:

fiddles

director/violin

folk fiddle

banjo

OLlogo

 cityoflondonsinfonia.co.uk/

www.danwalshbanjo.co.uk

www.henrywebstermusic.com

Monday 10th October 1pm - 2pm

VIOLIN by ZOË BEYERS - Lunch Time

Maidment Hall, Shrewsbury School